NCTCOG to offer updates on high-speed rail, other planning efforts May 13

Public comments to be accepted until June 11
Arlington, TEXAS – The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) invites North Texans to provide their input on transportation and air quality matters during a hybrid public meeting May 13. The meeting is scheduled for noon at NCTCOG’s Arlington offices, 616 Six Flags Drive. Residents can also watch the meeting live at or participate via phone by dialing 855-925-2801, then code 1234.

With the Federal Railroad Administration advancing the Corridor Identification and Development program for intercity passenger rail around the nation, the Dallas-to-Fort Worth High-Speed Rail project is positioned for potential federal funding support as planning activities continue. This project is gaining momentum regionally as discussions of fine-tuning alignment locations occur and the project enters the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) analysis phase. Staff will present planning updates for high-speed rail.

NCTCOG is working to fund the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). The TIP is a list of transportation projects with committed federal, state and local funding. Staff will present an overview of the TIP development process and provide the TIP document, which includes a draft list of regional active projects.

Air quality also remains a significant focus in North Texas. Ten Dallas-Fort Worth area counties are in nonattainment for ozone pollution, and NCTCOG is monitoring a potential change by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) of another criteria pollutant – particulate matter. In February, the EPA changed the national air quality standards for particulate matter from 12.0 micrograms per cubic meter (μg/m3) to 9.0 μg/m3. Because of these changes, Dallas and Tarrant counties may not meet the new particulate matter standard. The EPA is expected to make a final decision in 2026. Staff will present additional information about the new standard.

Proposed amendments to Mobility 2045 – 2022 Update will be available online for review and comment. NCTCOG’s Spatial Data Cooperative Program, air quality programs and funding opportunities, Try Parking It and administrative revisions to Mobility 2045 – 2022 Update will also be highlighted.

Roundtrip rides from the Centerport/DFW Airport Station to NCTCOG are available on VIA for $6 through For special accommodation due to disabilities or language interpretation, contact 817-695-9255 or email Public comments will be accepted until June 11 and can be made at

Public Meeting Details
Noon Monday, May 13, 2024
North Central Texas Council of Governments
616 Six Flags Drive
Arlington, TX 76011

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:  
NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development.  

NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions. NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered in the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 228 member governments including 16 counties, 169 cities, 19 school districts and 27 special districts. For more information on the Transportation Department, visit  
About the Regional Transportation Council: 

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 45 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at