Jon Niermann, *Chairman*Bobby Janecka, *Commissioner*Catarina R. Gonzales, *Commissioner*Kelly Keel, *Executive Director*



TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Protecting Texas by Reducing and Preventing Pollution

November 6, 2024

Achille Alonzi, Division Administrator Federal Highway Administration, Texas Division 300 E. 8th Street, Rm 826 Austin, Texas 78701

Via Email

Subject: Transportation Conformity Review and Concurrence

Dear Achille Alonzi:

Thank you for the opportunity to review the 2023 Transportation Conformity report and supporting documents for the 2022 update to the Mobility 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and the 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) developed by the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG). The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) is satisfied that all requirements are met, and transportation conformity is demonstrated.

The purpose of this conformity analysis was to determine if NCTCOG's updated 2045 MTP and its 2023-2026 TIP are consistent with transportation conformity emissions requirements for the Dallas-Fort Worth 2008 and 2015 eight-hour ozone standard nonattainment areas. NCTCOG performed nitrogen oxides (NO_x) and volatile organic compounds (VOC) motor vehicle emissions budget (MVEB) tests using the 2020 MVEBs—107.25 NO_x tons per day (tpd) and 62.41 VOC tpd—adopted as part of the serious classification *Dallas-Fort Worth Reasonable Further Progress State Implementation Plan Revision for the 2008 Eight-Hour Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard* and found adequate for transportation conformity purposes by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency effective May 24, 2023. NCTCOG demonstrated that projected on-road mobile emissions in the 2023, 2026, 2036, and 2045 analysis years were lower than the NO_x and VOC MVEBs.

If you have questions about our review, please contact Sarah Thomas of my staff at 512-239-4939 or sarah.thomas@tceq.texas.gov.

Sincerely,

Donna F. Huff, Deputy Director Air Quality Division

cc: Jose Campos, Federal Highway Administration Guy Donaldson, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Doug Booher, Texas Department of Transportation Humberto Gonzalez, Jr., P.E., TPP Division, Texas Department of Transportation Michael Morris, P.E., North Central Texas Council of Governments