2019 Regional Transportation Council Principles for the Federal Surface Transportation Authorization

Adequately Fund the Transportation System

- Pass a long-term bill (6 years) to provide stability for transportation planning
- Increase traditional revenue Identify additional revenue to maintain and improve the system and address the solvency of the Highway Trust Fund
- Allow flexibility in traditional funding and collect revenue smarter update outdated allocation formulas, resolve the donor state issue
- Provide adequate funding for air quality, congestion mitigation programs and all modes of transportation
- Allow for the use of innovative funding, such as toll roads, TIFIA and infrastructure banks, and seek opportunities to leverage funds
- Implement a vehicle miles traveled fee pilot program

Define a National Transportation Vision

- Continue to implement regional, state and national goods movement policies and programs along with a multimodal freight network with highways, freight rail, seaports, inland ports and airports
- Expand the MPO role in the freight decision making process
- Preserve and renew transportation assets

Increase Efficiency

- Continue to support environmental and project delivery streamlining
- Give greater funding and responsibilities to large MPOs
- Encourage partnerships between federal agencies to break silos and solve multiple problems simultaneously
- Streamline and simplify the air quality regulatory process
- Continue support for performance-based planning

Expand Options

- Maximize transit-oriented developments and promote transit ridership
- Connect land use and transportation decisions and promote the availability of transit and bicycle-pedestrian options
- Support public and private shared mobility solutions
- Improve air quality; ensure eligibility clean vehicle and technology programs and congestion relief projects and programs eligible for federal highway funding



North Central Texas Council of Governments



Pursue Innovation, Technology and Safety

- Support innovation and technology to improve the transportation system; increase safety and relieve congestion
- Support the development and deployment of advanced-technology and alternative-fuel vehicles
- Encourage high-speed rail development and expansion in Texas
- Support a safe, consistent implementation of technological advances, such as autonomous vehicles, data sharing and unmanned aircraft systems, through dialogue and collaboration of Federal, State and local governments
- Examine the effectiveness of statewide or local bans on use of wireless communications devices while driving and, if
 deemed ineffective, improve roadway safety and reduce distracted driving through measures such as technology to
 disable use of a driver's cell phones for purposes other than emergency or navigation uses while a driver is
 operating a vehicle in motion.

2018-2019 Regional Transportation Council

Gary Fickes, Chair Commissioner, Tarrant County

Andy Eads, Vice Chair County Judge, Denton County

Roger Harmon, Secretary County Judge, Johnson County

Tennell Atkins Councilmember, City of Dallas

Richard E. Aubin Councilmember, City of Garland

Sue S. Bauman Board Chair, Dallas Area Rapid Transit

Mohamed "Mo" Bur, P.E. District Engineer Texas Department of Transportation, Dallas District

Loyl C. Bussell, P.E. District Engineer, Texas Department of Transportation Fort Worth District

Rickey D. Callahan Councilmember, City of Dallas

George Conley Commissioner, Parker County

David L. Cook Mayor, City of Mansfield

Theresa Daniel, Ph.D. Commissioner, Dallas County

Rudy Durham Mayor, City of Lewisville

Charles Emery Chairman, Denton County Transportation Authority Kevin Falconer Mayor, City of Carrollton

Rob Franke, P.E. Mayor, City of Cedar Hil

George Fuller Mayor, City of McKinney

Rick Grady Councilmember, City of Plano

Lane Grayson Commissioner, Ellis County

Sandy Greyson Councilmember, City of Dallas

Jim Griffin Mayor, City of Bedford

Mojy Haddad Board Member North Texas Tollway Authority

Clay Lewis Jenkins County Judge, Dallas County

Ron Jensen Mayor, City of Grand Prairie

Jungus Jordan Councilmember, City of Fort Worth

Lee M. Kleinman Councilmember, City of Dallas

David Magness Commissioner, Rockwall County

Scott Mahaffey Chairman, Trinity Metro

B. Adam McGough Councilmember, City of Dallas

Wiliam Meadows Board Chair Dallas Fort Worth International Airport Steve Mitchell Councilmember, City of Richardson

Cary Moon Councilmember, City of Fort Worth

Stan Pickett Mayor, City of Mesquite

John Ryan Councilmember, City of Denton

Will Sowell Councilmember, City of Frisco

Stephen Terrell Mayor, City of Allen

T. Oscar Trevino, Jr., P.E. Mayor, City of North Richland Hills

William Tsao, P.E. Citizen Representative, City of Dallas

Dennis Webb Councilmember, City of Irving

Duncan Webb Commissioner, Collin County

B. Glen Whitley County Judge, Tarrant County

Kathryn Wilemon Councilmember, City of Arlington

W. Jeff Williams Mayor, City of Arlington

Ann Zadeh Councilmember, City of Fort Worth

<u>Staff Director</u> **Michael Morris, P.E.** Director of Transportation, NCTCOG