

2025 Regional Transportation Council Legislative Program 89th TEXAS LEGISLATURE

Legislation to Actively Pursue

- Ensure fair-share allocation of funds for roadway capacity improvements to metropolitan regions or allow the use of Public-Private Partnerships
- Support innovative funding methods to expand rail and transit options within the region:
 - o Require expenditure of a portion of the Texas Mobility Fund for regional commuter rail and Class I railroad improvements
 - o Support dedicated funding for public transportation and rail via TxDOT budget rider
 - o Allocate funds to the existing Texas Rail Relocation and Improvement Fund

Legislation to Actively Pursue with Others

- Provide tools to aid transit agencies in supporting transit-oriented development (TOD) and/or funding to supplement
- TOD financing/public-private partnerships while allowing for cities to maintain the lead and local control in development decisions
- Return approximately \$80 million in air quality user fees to counties for Local Initiatives Projects
- Review with TxDOT and the Legislature options related to the creation of a new State high-speed rail authority
- Improve the safety of the statewide transportation system for all users; lower excessive speed limits, reduce aggressive driving, eliminate driving under the influence, enforce seat belts; advance automated speed enforcement over 90 mph
- Modernize messaging in construction zones through technology and electronic signage; support automated speed enforcement in construction zones
- Provide counties and cities with expanded tools for land use control to preserve future transportation corridors and safety needs

Provide Testimony Upon Request

- Identify and pursue additional revenue for all modes of transportation
- Support use of Public-Private Partnerships for roadway and transit projects, and tolled managed lanes through a Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)/local decision-making process
- Support a budget rider for Texas MPOs to receive \$100,000 per year for the next two years to complete a safety action plan within their metropolitan region
- Encourage measures that improve bicycle and pedestrian safety and focus on areas with pedestrian movements
- Explore transit and its ability to enhance community safety
- Oppose legislation to increase freight truck weight limits above current law
- Retain eminent domain authority in current statute to allow planning and development of new and/or expanded transportation corridors, including high-speed rail, commuter rail, freight rail, roadways, and trails





Provide Testimony Upon Request (continued)

- Support system reliability, congestion relief, and encourage trip reduction strategies for regular workdays and special events
- Support high-speed rail development in Texas and its superior safety history
- Utilize innovation in higher-speed transportation, transit, autonomous vehicles, and freight
- Support the continued collaboration between local governments, the military, the State, and FAA to advance regulations for compatible land use, infrastructure, and the safe operations of unmanned aircraft
- Support broadband expansion as a mode of transportation
- Support legislation that improves air quality, including enhancing the emissions inspection/maintenance program, especially for heavy-duty vehicle trucks, reducing heavy-duty truck idling, ending vehicle emissions inspection fraud, and supporting tire disposal programs
- Modernize and increase flexibility in the Local Initiative Projects (LIP) through a limited program focused on transportation and air quality improvements
- Protect the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP) Trust fund and revenue balance to ensure funds are used for TERP purposes, including zero emission vehicle infrastructure investments
- Modernize TERP and ensure flexibility to accommodate innovative approaches to improving air quality and reducing emissions, including the purchase of heavy-duty zero emission vehicles such as hydrogen fuel cell and battery electric vehicles and associated infrastructure

Regional Transportation Council 2024-2025

Clay Lewis Jenkins, Chair County Judge, Dallas County

Rick Bailey, Vice Chair

Commissioner, Johnson County

Brandon Jones, SecretaryCouncilmember, City of Lewisville

Daniel Alemán, Jr. Mayor, City of Mesquite

Bruce Arfsten Mayor, Town of Addison

Steve Babick

Mayor, City of Carrollton

Adam Bazaldua

Deputy Mayor Pro Tem, City of Dallas

Elizabeth M. BeckCouncilmember, City of Fort Worth

Gyna BivensMayor Pro Tem, City of Fort Worth

Alan BlaylockCouncilmember, City of Fort Worth

Ceason Clemons, P.E.
District Engineer
Texas Department of Transportation, Dallas District

las District

Michael D. Crain

Councilmember, City of Fort Worth

Theresa Daniel, Ph.D.

Commissioner, Dallas County

Jeff Davis Chair, Trinity Metro

Pat Deen County Judge,Parker County Andy Eads
County Judge, Denton County

Michael Evans

Mayor, City of Mansfield

Vernon Evans

Vice Chair Dallas Fort Worth International Airport

Gary Fickes
Commissioner, Tarrant County

George Fuller Mayor, City of McKinney

Raul H. Gonzalez Councilmember, City of Arlington

Lane GraysonCommissioner, Ellis County

Mojy Haddad Board Member, North Texas Tollway Authority

Ron Jensen Mayor, City of Grand Prairie

Jill Jester Councilmember, City of Denton

Brad M. LaMorgeseCouncilmember, City of Irving

Mayor, City of Cedar Hill

Tammy Meinershagen

Deputy Mayor Pro Tem

Stephen Mason

Deputy Mayor Pro Tem City of Frisco

Cara MendelsohnCouncilmember, City of Dallas

Cesar MolinaBoard Vice Chair, Denton County
Transportation Authority

d Moore

Mayor Pro Tem, City of Garland

Jesse Moreno

Councilmember, City of Dallas

John B. Muns Mayor, City of Plano Omar Narvaez

Councilmember, City of Dallas

Matthew Porter Mayor, City of Wylie Manny Ramirez

Commisioner, Tarrant County

Tito Rodriguez
Councilmember
City of North Richland Hills

Jim R. Ross Mayor, City of Arlington

David Salazar, P.E.District Engineer, Texas Department of Transportation, Fort Worth District

Gary Slagel
Chair, Dallas Area Rapid Transit

Bobby StovalCounty Judge, Hunt County

Jeremy Tompkins
Councilmember, City of Euless

William Tsao, P.E. Citizen Representative, City of Dallas

Duncan Webb

Commissioner, Collin County

Chad West

Councilmember, City of Dallas