Jon Niermann, *Chairman*Emily Lindley, *Commissioner*Bobby Janecka, *Commissioner*Toby Baker, *Executive Director* 



## TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Protecting Texas by Reducing and Preventing Pollution

December 14, 2022

Achille Alonzi, Division Administrator Federal Highway Administration, Texas Division 300 E. 8th Street, Rm 826 Austin, Texas 78701

Via Email

Subject: Transportation Conformity Review and Concurrence

Dear Achille Alonzi:

Thank you for the opportunity to review the *2022 Transportation Conformity* report and supporting documents for the 2022 update to the Mobility 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and the 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) developed by the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG). The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) is satisfied that all requirements are met and transportation conformity is demonstrated.

The purpose of this conformity analysis was to determine if the NCTCOG's updated 2045 MTP and its 2023-2026 TIP are consistent with transportation conformity emissions requirements for the Dallas-Fort Worth 2008 and 2015 eight-hour ozone standard nonattainment areas. The NCTCOG performed nitrogen oxides (NO<sub>x</sub>) and volatile organic compounds (VOC) motor vehicle emissions budget (MVEB) tests using the 2017 MVEBs—130.77 NO<sub>x</sub> tons per day (tpd) and 64.91 VOC tpd—adopted as part of the moderate classification *Dallas-Fort Worth Attainment Demonstration State Implementation Plan Revision for the 2008 Eight-Hour Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard* and found adequate for transportation conformity purposes by the United States Environmental Protection Agency effective November 23, 2016. The NCTCOG demonstrated that projected on-road mobile emissions in the 2023, 2026, 2036, and 2045 analysis years were lower than the NO<sub>x</sub> and VOC MVEBs.

If you have questions about our review, please contact Jamie Zech of my staff at 512-239-3935 or jamie.zech@tceq.texas.gov.

Sincerely,

Donna F. Huff, Deputy Director

Air Quality Division

cc: Jose Campos, Federal Highway Administration Guy Donaldson, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Doug Booher, Texas Department of Transportation Jessica Butler, P.E., Texas Department of Transportation Michael Morris, P.E., North Central Texas Council of Governments

P.O. Box 13087 • Austin, Texas 78711-3087 • 512-239-1000 • tceq.texas.gov