nctcog logo
transportation label



2010 SIP Revision for the 1997 8-Hour Ozone Standard

flowersIn April 2004, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced that Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, and Tarrant Counties comprise the Dallas-Fort Worth nine-county nonattainment area for the pollutant ozone under the 1997 8-hour National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS). 

With an effective designation date of June 15, 2004, these nine counties received a “moderate” ozone classification.  That gave the North Central Texas region until June 15, 2010, to reach attainment or face a reclassification to “serious”. 

Dallas-Fort Worth (DFW) moderate 8-hour ozone nonattainment area did not attain the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS by June 15, 2010, the attainment deadline set forth in the Clean Air Act (CAA) and Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) for moderate nonattainment areas. 

As a result of not reaching attainment by June 2010, the North Central Texas nonattainment region was classified as a “serious” nonattainment area for ozone by EPA on December 19, 2010, with an effective date of January 19, 2011 (EPA–R06–OAR–2010–0412; FRL–9240–8); based on guidelines of the 1997
8-Hour Ozone NAAQS.

This reclassification to "serious" nonattainment required Texas to submit the Attainment Demonstration (AD) and Reasonable Further Progress (RFP) SIP revisions as required under CAA section 182(c) to EPA no later than January 19, 2012.

Use the following link to view the current 8-hour AD and RFP SIPs

2010 8-hour Attainment Demonstration Document

2010 8-hour Reasonable Further Progress Document

Sierra Club v. McCarthy (United States Environmental Protection Agency)


TCEQ SIP Stakeholder Group





4/24/2018  JPL/CH %Trans

Find Us on Facebook  Follow Us on Twitter  Tubin with the COG Trans  Grammin with CogTrans
 North Central Texas Council of Governments | 616 Six Flags Drive P.O. Box 5888 Arlington, TX 76005-5888
 Main Operator: (817) 640-3300 | Fax: (817) 640-7806